Skip to content

Data Retention

This page describes how data is automatically deleted when you terminate your account, unsubscribe from an app, or abandon your account without active subscriptions.

Definitions

  • "Account data" means your account (username, email, password, purchase history) in the ElfHosted store, to which all of your subscriptions are tied.
  • "Application data" refers to the config for a specific application, usually found in /config/<app> in File Browser. Examples would be your Plex metadata, or your Prowlarr DB.

When do we automatically purge data?

Action Data affected Retention
🚫 Unsubscribe all subscriptions Application data
Account data
Offsite backups
7 days
1 month
3 months
Delete your account Account data
Application data
Offsite backups
Immediately
Immediately
Immediately

Examples

If you...

  • ... decide to switch from Plex to Jellyfin, nothing changes. Your Plex data persists at /config/plex/, consuming space, until you manually remove it.
  • ... cancel / lapse all your subscriptions, after 7 days, all your application data will be deleted. (if you create a new subscription within 1 month, your data will be automatically restored from backup), and after 1 month your account itself, and all your offsite backups will be deleted (you'll get a fresh 100GB if you start a new subscription)
  • ... delete your account from the store, all your data (including your store account, app data, and offsite backups) will be immediately deleted.

Questions

Can you recover deleted data?

No 😢

Do you backup my data?

Yes, we take daily backups of your /config, your /storage/symlinks, and your /backups volumes, and we store these offsite for a month. These backups are intended for datacenter migrations and disaster recovery, and can't be selectively restored. In other words, you can request us to restore the entire /config folder, but not just the /config/plex folder.

How can I backup my data?

Use ElfBot to perform backups of your app data to /backups, and then copy the data offsite using filebrowser.

I'm no longer subscribed to my app, how can I get my app data?

The data will persist in /config/<app> for as long as you have an active subscription.

How can I immediately delete my account and data?

Go to the Delete My Account page on the store, enter your account password, and confirm deletion.